Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CCBS Mark & Marilyn Boyd Library: Home

This guide is provided for students at Carolina College of Biblical Studies. It offers resources and information in support of academics, and supplements the library's reference collection.

Library Services

CCBS provides articles and journals through EBSCO's Religion and Philosophy database. Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) combine journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 360+ major religion and theology journals. OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. 

Services

Renew Online

You may renew borrowed materials through MyPopuli; select "library" to access your account. You may also renew items by emailing librarian@ccbs.edu or calling (910) 323-5614.

Study Rooms

The library has two study rooms that may can be reserved  for up to two hours at a time. If there are no reservations, study rooms may be used on a first-come, first-served basis. Reserve a study room. Study Room #1 is equipped with a computer for student use.

Computers

There are four PC computers available in the main library and one in Study Room #1 that are equipped with Microsoft Office Suite. 

Printer

Students may print up to 140 black and white pages at no cost each semester. For assistance with printing, speak with a library staff member.

Reference Materials

Reference materials are for use in the library. They may only be borrowed by faculty members to use in the classroom. Online students may request photo copies of pages that are emailed at no cost as long as the request adheres to fair use under current copyright law.

Textbooks

One copy of each textbook is purchased by the library and is placed on reserve for use in the the library. The books may only be checked out to take to the classroom by special permission. Students, who are waiting for their ordered textbooks, may check out a textbook on Friday and return it on Monday by 10 a.m.

Library Staff Hours

Welcome! We are here to assist with your research and information needs.

Library staff hours are:  

  • Monday, Tuesday and Thursdays: 10 a.m. - 8 :30 p.m.
  • Wednesdays: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Fridays: 8:30 a.m. to Noon.

To learn more, contact Kellie Tomita, Director of Library Services at librarian@ccbs.edu, or David Probus, Library Assistant at dprobus@ccbs.edu.

Peer Tutoring

Tutoring is available for Turabian, English grammar, Logos Bible Software, and for other general issues. The purpose of tutoring is to assist students in achieving greater competency in their studies as opposed to completing work for students. Find out more about our current tutors below and schedule a time to meet with them as available. 

Click here to schedule an appointment with Herman Badger.

Click here to schedule an appointment with Maribel Gonzalez

 

HERMAN BADGER

One of our veterans, Herman first enrolled at CCBS in the winter of 2018. Based on a lot of hard work, he is now a junior easrning a 3.81 cumulative GPA as an Apologetics major.

MARIBEL GONZALEZ

Another of our veterans, Maribel enrolled in the fall of 2018. She is now a senior earning a 3.83 cumulative GPA as a Biblical Studies major with a minor in Biblical Counseling.

Other Services

Loan Policy/Materials Checkout

Students may check out materials for up to three weeks at a time and may renew the materials up to three times.

A maximum of 25 items may be held by a single borrower at any given time. Exceptions may be granted at the librarian's discretion.

Overdue fines and replacement costs for damaged and/or lost items are to be paid before patrons my borrow more materials. Overdue books are fined 25 cents per book per day. Cost to replace any lost or damaged library materials will consist of the cost of the material plus a $25.00 replacement fee.

Individuals are not permitted to borrow materials for the purpose of loaning to others.

Interlibrary Loan

The library belongs to the Association of Christian Librarian’s Library Consortium and is able to borrow materials from other member libraries. Patrons wishing to borrow a book that is not owned by the library may email a request to the librarian with the name of the author, title, publisher, and copyright date of the book. The book will be ordered as soon as possible. Patrons may keep the book for up to two weeks. 

There is a $5.00 fee for students to mail the book back to the owner.  Faculty members are exempt from paying this fee. 

The library also has reciprocal borrowing rights with the library at Grace Divinity College in Fayetteville, NC.