The library will be closed May 29 - June 2
The catalog includes links to e-books. You must be logged into to your Populi account to request or access materials.
Log in to your Populi account (Library>Links) , or email ktomita@ccbs.edu, for User ID and Password. Access is restricted to students and faculty.
CCBS provides articles and journals through EBSCO's Religion and Philosophy database. Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) combine journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 360+ major religion and theology journals. OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
First Corinthians by
This new translation of First Corinthians includes an introduction and extensive commentary that has been composed to explain the religious meaning of this Pauline epistle. Joseph Fitzmyer discusses all the usual introductory problems associated with the epistle, including issues of its authorship, time of composition, and purpose, and he also presents a complete outline. The author analyzes the epistle, pericope by pericope, discussing the meaning of each one in a comment and explaining details in the notes. The book supplies a bibliography on the various passages and problems for readers who wish to investigate further, and useful indexes complete the volume. First Corinthians will be of interest to general readers who wish to learn more about the Pauline letters, and also to pastors, college and university teachers, graduate students studying the Bible, and professors of Biblical studies.
The Digital Public Square by
We now inhabit a digital world. Social media has changed and challenged some of our most basic understandings of truth, faith, and even the idea of a public square. In The Digital Public Square, editor Jason Thacker has chosen top Christian voices to help the church navigate the issues of censorship, conspiracy theories, sexual ethics, hate speech, religious freedom, and tribalism. In this unique work, David French, Patricia Shaw, and many others cast a distinctly Christian vision of a digital public theology to promote the common good throughout society.
Evangelical Anxiety by
In this riveting spiritual memoir, the writer, scholar, and commentator tells the story of his struggles with mental illness, explores the void between the Christian faith and scientific treatment, and forges a path toward reconciling these divergent worlds. For years, Charles Marsh suffered panic attacks and debilitating anxiety. As an Evangelical Christian, he was taught to trust in the power of God and His will. While his Christian community resisted therapy and personal introspection, Marsh eventually knew he needed help. To alleviate his suffering, he made the bold decision to seek medical treatment and underwent years of psychoanalysis. In this riveting spiritual memoir, Marsh tells the story of his struggle to find peace and the dramatic, inspiring transformation that redefined his life and his faith. He examines the tensions between faith and science and reflects on how his own experiences offer hope for bridging the gap between the two. Honest and revealing, Marsh traces the roots of shame, examines Christian notions of sex, faith, and mental illness and their genesis, and chronicles how he redefined his beliefs and rebuilt his relationship with his community. A poignant and vital story of deep soul work, Evangelical Anxiety helps us look beyond the stigma that leaves too many people in pain and offers people of faith a way forward to find the help they need while remaining true to their beliefs.
The 10 Most Important Things You Can Say to a Mormon by
Covers the Mormon view of the Bible, the Book of Mormon origins. Stresses the importance of the Trinity, salvation by grace not works, and more.
Preaching: A Simple Approach to the Sacred by
Preaching with power and conviction is too important to be left to chance In Preaching, experienced preacher and teacher of preachers, Daniel Overdorf, leads readers through a tested process for sermon preparation that takes proclaiming God's Word seriously yet does not overcomplicate the task or overwhelm the preacher. Overdorf describes and demonstrates consistent, manageable steps to effective preaching, including: Clarifying the convictions that drive your preachingIdentifying the main idea of a Scripture textForming memorable word pictures, Reducing reliance on notesConnecting with the congregation throughout the sermonSpeaking authentically "Overdorf has promised a textbook for beginning preachers--and it certainly delivers on that--but it is more. With exercises, examples, sidebars, and bonus articles he takes us beyond the basics. This book will put new preachers on the right track and help old preachers find the track again." --Jeffrey Arthurs, PhD, Robinson Professor of Preaching, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary "Daniel Overdorf, drawing on decades of experience preaching and training preachers, is a trustworthy guide for those learning how to preach. He takes this complex, sacred, and often intimidating task and makes it accessible for beginners, and yet even seasoned preachers will benefit from his wisdom." --Heather Gorman, PhD, Professor of New Testament, Johnson University Preaching offers guidance for any pastor who desires to communicate God's Word more effectively. Those preparing for the pastorate will find encouragement and exercises that start their teaching ministry off on the right path. Those who preach regularly will discover resources for taking the next step in their unique journey of proclaiming the Scriptures to their congregations with power and presence.
The Story of Abortion in America by
Authors Marvin Olasky and Leah Savas detail the long history of abortion and its impact on American culture through vivid personal stories that humanize people on both sides of the debate.
The Arc of Truth by
Martin Luther King Jr. said and wrote as much or more about the meaning, nature, and power of truth as any other prominent figure in the 1950s and '60s. King was not only vastly influential as an advocate for and defender of truth; he also did more than anyone in his time to organize truth into a movement for the liberation, uplift, and empowerment of humanity, efforts that ultimately resulted in the loss of his life. Drawing on King's published and unpublished sermons, speeches, and writings, The Arc of Truthexplores King's lifelong pilgrimage in pursuit of truth. Lewis Baldwin explores King's quest for truth from his inquisitive childhood to the influence of family and church, to Morehouse College, Crozer Theological Seminary, Boston University, and other academic institutions in the Northeast. Continuing on, the book follows King's sense that he was involved in experiments of truth within the context of the struggle to liberate and empower humanity, to his understanding of the civil rights movement as unfolding truth, to his persistent challenge to America around its need to engage in a serious reckoning with truth regarding its history and heritage. Baldwin investigates King's determination to speak truth to power, and his untiring efforts to actualize what he envisioned as the truthful ends of the beloved community through the truthful means of nonviolent direct action. King believed, taught, and demonstrated by example that truth derives from a revolution in the heart, mind, and soul before it can be translated into institutions and structures that guarantee freedom, justice, human dignity, equality of opportunity, and peace. Ultimately, King's significance for humanity cannot be considered only his contributions as a preacher, pastor, civil rights leader, and world figure--he was and remains equally impactful as a theologian, philosopher, and ethicist whose life and thought evince an enduring search for and commitment to truth.
Celebrities for Jesus by
Many Christian leaders use their fame and influence to great effect. Whether that popularity resides at the local church level or represents national or international influence, many leaders have effectively said to their followers, "Follow me as I follow Christ." But fame that is cultivated for its own sake, without attendant spiritual maturity and accountability, has a shadow side that runs counter to the heart of the gospel. Celebrity--defined as social power without proximity--has led to abuses of power, the cultivation of persona, and a fixation on profits. In light of the fall of famous Christian leaders in recent years, the time has come for the church to reexamine its relationship to celebrity. Award-winning journalist Katelyn Beaty explores the ways fame has reshaped the American church, explains how and why celebrity is woven into the fabric of the evangelical movement, and identifies many ways fame has gone awry in recent years. She shows us how evangelical culture is uniquely attracted to celebrity gurus over and against local institutions, and she offers a renewed vision of ordinary faithfulness, helping us all keep fame in its proper place.
As a commitment to student success, tutoring is available for Turabian, English grammar, Logos Bible software, and for other general issues. The purpose of tutoring is to assist students in achieving greater competency in their studies as opposed to completing work for students. Peer tutors welcome the opportunity to serve you on campus or online, but they are also available on a limited basis.
Services
Renew Online
You may renew borrowed materials through MyPopuli; select "library" to access your account. You may also renew items by emailing librarian@ccbs.edu or calling (910) 323-5614.
Study Rooms
The library has two study rooms that may can be reserved for up to two hours at a time. If there are no reservations, study rooms may be used on a first-come, first-served basis. Reserve a study room. Study Room #1 is equipped with a computer for student use.
Computers
There are four PC computers available in the main library and one in Study Room #1 that are equipped with Microsoft Office Suite.
Printer
Students may print up to 140 black and white pages at no cost each semester. For assistance with printing, speak with a library staff member.
Reference Materials
Reference materials are for use in the library. They may only be borrowed by faculty members to use in the classroom. Online students may request photo copies of pages that are emailed at no cost as long as the request adheres to fair use under current copyright law.
Textbooks
One copy of each textbook is purchased by the library and is placed on reserve for use in the the library. The books may only be checked out to take to the classroom by special permission. Students, who are waiting for their ordered textbooks, may check out a textbook on Friday and return it on Monday by 10 a.m.
Loan Policy/Materials Checkout
Students may check out materials for up to three weeks at a time and may renew the materials up to three times.
A maximum of 25 items may be held by a single borrower at any given time. Exceptions may be granted at the librarian's discretion.
Overdue fines and replacement costs for damaged and/or lost items are to be paid before patrons my borrow more materials. Overdue books are fined 25 cents per book per day. Cost to replace any lost or damaged library materials will consist of the cost of the material plus a $25.00 replacement fee.
Individuals are not permitted to borrow materials for the purpose of loaning to others.
Interlibrary Loan
The library belongs to the Association of Christian Librarian’s Library Consortium and is able to borrow materials from other member libraries. Patrons wishing to borrow a book that is not owned by the library may email a request to the librarian with the name of the author, title, publisher, and copyright date of the book. The book will be ordered as soon as possible. Patrons may keep the book for up to two weeks.
There is a $5.00 fee for students to mail the book back to the owner. Faculty members are exempt from paying this fee.
The library also has reciprocal borrowing rights with the library at Manna University in Fayetteville, NC.