Essential Academic Resources: Home

Bible Dictionaries

A Bible dictionary is a reference book that provides definitions, explanations, and historical context for words, names, places, and concepts found in the Bible. It is typically organized alphabetically, making it easy to look up specific terms or topics.

People: Key figures in the Bible, such as Moses, David, and Paul.

Places: Geographical locations mentioned in the Bible, like Jerusalem, Bethlehem, or the Jordan River.

Terms and Concepts: Important theological concepts, rituals, and customs, such as “atonement,” “covenant,” or “sacrifice.”

Books of the Bible: Summaries and background information on each book, including its authorship, purpose, and key themes.

Archaeological and Historical Information: Insights into the historical context of biblical events, including related archaeological findings.

Bible Encyclopedias

Typically offered in multiple volumes, Bible encyclopedias are similar to dictionaries, but offer more detailed and extensive information. Like standard encyclopedias, they are organized alphabetically, making it easy to find specific topics.

Terms and Concepts: Thorough explanations of key theological terms, religious practices, and concepts found in the Bible.

People: Detailed biographies and historical accounts of significant figures in the Bible.

Places: Comprehensive descriptions of the locations mentioned in the Bible, including their historical, geographical, and cultural significance.  

Books of the Bible: Articles on each book of the Bible, including discussions on authorship, historical context, themes, and interpretations. 

Archaeology and History: In-depth coverage of archaeological discoveries and historical events that relate to the Bible, often with illustrations, maps, and photographs. 

Cultural and Social Context: Information on the cultural, social, and political background of the biblical world, including customs, laws, and daily life.

Biographies

A Bible biography is a written account or study that focuses on the life and character of an individual mentioned in the Bible. They can focus on well-known figures like Moses, David, Mary, or Paul, as well as lesser-known individuals, who played significant roles in biblical history.

Biographies explore the historical, spiritual, and personal aspects of biblical figures, often providing insights into their significance within the biblical narrative and their impact on religious history. They may also provides detailed definitions, including various meanings based on context. 

Key Features

Life Story: A detailed account of the individual’s life, including significant events, decisions, and experiences that shaped character and role in the Bible. 

Historical and Cultural Context: An examination of the time period and cultural environment in which the person lived, which helps to understand their actions and decisions.

Character Analysis: Offers insight into the person’s personality, virtues, flaws, and spiritual journey, often drawing lessons or applications for the reader. 

Theological Significance: Discussions about the individual's life contributes to the overall message of the Bible and their importance in biblical theology. 

Scriptural References: An exploration of the biblical passages that mention or describe the person, often including commentary and interpretation.

Bible Concordance
A Bible concordance is a reference tool that indexes words found in the Bible and shows where each word appears throughout the text. It helps readers locate specific verses, study the use of a word in different contexts, and deepen their understanding of biblical language and themes. 

Word Listings: Organized alphabetically, each word is followed by scripture references where it appears. 

Verse References: Provides a list of verses or passages for each word, often with a brief snippet of surrounding text for context.

Original Language Study: Some concordances, like Strong's Concordance, link English words to their original Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek terms, often using a numbering system for deeper study. 

Topical Concordances: Group related words or concepts together, aiding in thematic studies. 

Exhaustive vs. Abridged: An exhaustive concordance includes every occurrence of every word, while an abridged version focuses on key words. 

Word Studies: Understand how a word is used across different books and contexts. 

Thematic Studies: Explore themes by finding all related verses, such as on "faith" or "love." 

Locate Verses: Find specific verses when recalling a word or phrase but not its exact location.

Lexicons

A specialized dictionary that provides detailed definitions and explanations of words used in the original languages of the Bible—Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek. They are used for conducting detailed analyses of key biblical terms, and to ensure accurate translation of original texts; exegesis and interpretation, aiding in the precise interpretation of biblical passages. 

Types of Lexicons

Hebrew Lexicons: Focus on Old Testament words

Greek Lexicons: Focus on New Testament words  

Interlinear Lexicons: Used with interlinear Bibles, presenting original text alongside English translations

Key Features

Original Language Entries: Organized alphabetically by Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek, each entry corresponds to a specific word in the biblical text. 

Word Definitions: Provides detailed definitions, including various meanings based on context

Etymology and Root Analysis: Explores the origins and roots of words, helping users understand deeper or nuanced meanings

Biblical References: Includes references to where the word appears in the Bible, showing different contexts and uses

Grammatical Information: Provides information on part of speech, gender, number, and tense, crucial for accurate translation
Related Words and Synonyms: Lists related words or synonyms to show how terms might be used interchangeably  Usage Notes: Offers cultural, historical, or theological insights into how words were understood by the original audience

Bible Commentaries

Bible commentaries are detailed explanation and interpretation of the biblical text. They provides insights into the meaning of Scripture, often verse-by-verse or passage by passage, and help readers understand the context, language, and theology of the Bible. Bible commentaries are written by scholars, theologians, and pastors. They are used to clarify difficult passages, explain historical and cultural background, and offer various interpretations. 

There are various types of Bible commentaries, ranging from scholarly, academic works intended for advanced study to more devotional commentaries designed for personal reflection and spiritual growth. Some are single-volume commentaries covering the entire Bible, while others may focus on a single book or a specific section of Scripture.

These articles provide insight about finding and using commentaries: What is a Bible Commentary and Why You Need One, and The Definitive Guide to Bible Commentaries: Types, Perspectives, and Use

The website, Best Commentaries.com, aggregates reviews and ratings, including feedback from site users, to help Bible students at all levels make well-informed decisions about which commentaries to use. The site also offers a continually updated bibliography of commentaries on each book of the Bible and other related topics.

Key Features of Commentaries

Verse-by-Verse Analysis: Typically breaks down the text into smaller sections, offering explanations for each verse or group of verses. This helps readers understand the flow of thought and the significance of each part of the text. 

Historical and Cultural Context: Provides background information on the historical, cultural, and social setting of the passage, which can shed light on its meaning. 

Linguistic Insights: Many commentaries delve into the original languages of the Bible (Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek), explaining how certain words or phrases were understood in their original context.

Types of Commentaries:

• Technical Commentaries: Scholarly works focused on detailed analysis of the biblical text, often including original language study (Hebrew, Greek), critical apparatus, and engagement with academic debates. They are best suited for advanced students, theologians, or scholars. Examples:

  • Anchor Yale Bible Commentary (AYB)

  • Baker Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament (BECNT)

  • Exegetical Guide to the Greek New Testament (EGGNT)

  • International Critical Commentary (ICC)

  • New Cambridge Bible Commentary (NCBC)

  • United Bible Society Handbook Series (UBSH)

  • Word Biblical Commentary (WBC)

  • Zondervan Exegetical Commentary on the Old Testament (ZECOT)

  • Zondervan Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament (ZECNT)

• Semi-Technical Commentaries: Strike a balance between academic rigor and readability. They provide some original language insights and scholarly analysis, but are written in a more accessible style for pastors, seminary students, or educated laypeople. Examples:

  • Expositor’s Bible Commentary (EBC) 

  • MacArthur New Testament Commentary Series

  • New American Commentary Series (NAC)

  • New International Commentary on the Old Testament (NICOT)

  • New International Commentary on the New Testament (NICNT)

  • Revised Expositor's Bible Commentary (REBC)

  • Pillar New Testament Commentary (PNTC) 

• Non-Technical Commentaries: Written for a general audience, these commentaries avoid academic jargon and original language discussion. They focus on practical application and clear, straightforward explanations of the biblical text. Examples:

  • Bible Speaks Today (BST) 

  • NIV Application Commentary (NIVAC) 

  • IVP New Testament Commentary (IVPNTC) 

  • Tyndale Old Testament and New Testament commentaries (TOTC and TNTC)

• Special Study Commentaries: Focus on specific themes, books, or issues within the Bible. They are often in-depth but can vary in their technical level, depending on the subject, and are used for specialized study rather than broad biblical interpretation. Examples:

  • Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament 

  • Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary 

  • Lexham Geographic Commentaries

• Preaching/Expository Commentaries: Specifically designed for sermon preparation. They focus not just on explaining the text, but also on how to communicate it effectively to a modern audience. These commentaries often provide illustrative material, practical applications, and suggestions for structuring a sermon, making them more tailored to the needs of pastors. Examples:

  • Expositor's Bible Commentary

  • MacArthur New Testament Commentary

  • NIV Application Commentary

  • Eerdmans Critical Commentary

• Pastoral Commentaries: Practical and accessible resources for pastors, ministry leaders, and laypeople, focusing on the spiritual, ethical, and practical implications of the text. Rather than academic analysis, they aim to make biblical teachings relevant to everyday life and ministry, bridging the gap between ancient texts and contemporary faith practice. Here are some notable examples of pastoral Bible commentaries:

  • Preacher's Commentary

  • NIV Application Commentary

  • Bible Speaks Today

  • Preaching the Word

  • Communicator's Commentary

• Devotional Commentaries: Designed for personal reflection and spiritual growth rather than for academic or scholarly study. It focuses on applying biblical principles to everyday life, offering encouragement, inspiration, and practical takeaways for deepening one’s faith. These commentaries tend to be more reflective, providing brief explanations of the text paired with meditations, prayers, or personal applications. Examples:

  • My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers

  • The One Year Bible by Tyndale House Publishers

  • Daily Devotions by Charles Spurgeon

  • The Daily Devotional Commentary by William MacDonald

  • New Morning Mercies by Paul David Tripp

• Prohibited Commentaries: Some commentaries are just not appropriate for certain levels of academic work. This does not mean they are not helpful in other contexts, but it does mean they are generally frowned upon by professors. When in doubt, consult with your professor.

  • Matthew Henry Commentary

  • J. Vernon McGee

Databases

Databases provide access to a broad range of academic resources, scholarly works, and specialized tools that facilitate research, enhance learning, and support the academic community. They are crucial for research, writing, and staying current with academic discussions. 

Types & Purposes

Multidisciplinary Databases: Connects biblical studies with fields like history, sociology, and literature. 

Scholarly Journals and Articles Databases: Offer access to peer-reviewed journals and articles in biblical studies, theology, church history, and related fields. 

E-Books and Monographs Databases: Provide access to e-books and monographs (subject matter books).

Language Databases: Organized alphabetically by Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek, each entry corresponds to a specific word in the biblical text, assist in studying biblical languages, offering detailed textual analysis.

Ancient Manuscripts and Texts Databases: Offers access to ancient texts such as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Septuagint, which are digitized for in-depth study. 

Specialized Reference Databases: Includes theological dictionaries and Bible encyclopedias, for deeper understanding of key concepts. 

Digital Libraries and Archives Databases: Digital libraries provide access to rare books, historical documents, and archives for historical and theological research.

Theses and Dissertations Databases: Institutional repositories and global databases offer access to theses and dissertations, providing insights into current research trends. 

Sermon Texts

Sermon texts provide insight into homiletics (the art of preaching), biblical interpretation, theological reflection, and pastoral communication.

Key Features

Sermon Structure: Learn how to organize and deliver sermons, focusing on introductions, themes, and conclusions. 

Preaching Styles: Analyzing various preaching styles—expository, topical, narrative—teaches students how to convey biblical messages effectively Learn to communicate complex theological concepts clearly and engagingly. focus on introductions, themes, and conclusions.

Biblical Interpretation (Exegesis) Case Studies: Sermons are used as examples of how preachers interpret and apply biblical texts, aiding in understanding exegesis and application. 

Comparative Analysis: Comparing sermons on the same passage reveals diverse interpretations and theological perspectives.

Practical Ministry Training:  Models how to address the spiritual needs of a congregation, helping students develop their own preaching style.

Theological Reflection/Explore Themes: Sermons rich in theological content help understand doctrines such as grace, salvation, and the nature of God in a pastoral context.

Contemporary Issues: Learn to relate biblical texts to current events and social issues. 

Historical and Cultural Studies: Studying sermons from different periods provides insights into the evolution of preaching and its cultural context.

Critical Analysis and Reflection Critiquing Sermons: Students critique sermons to assess theological accuracy and communication effectiveness, developing critical thinking skills.

Sermon Writing and Delivery Inspiration and Practice: Sermon texts inspire and guide students in writing and delivering their own sermons, with practice preaching in homiletics courses.

Websites provide access to an array of resources, facilitate research, offer convenient access to scholarly materials, and study tools. The library curates subject-specific websites that students may find useful for academic research. However, when using any website, including those selected by library staff, it is important to evaluate its credibility, point of view, and usefulness for academic research.

A credible website for scholarly research and study is authored and maintained by qualified experts, backed by reputable institutions, provides well-cited and objective content, is regularly updated, and is recognized within the academic community.   

Access to scholarly resources websites provide content from digital libraries, academic journals, e-books, university repositories, and theses. They include:

Academic Research: Specialized databases such as ATLA offer academic articles, while tools like Zotero help manage citations and bibliographies.

Theological Resources: Digital theological libraries and denominational websites offer access to classic and contemporary theological texts, position papers, and official teachings. 

Biblical Texts and Study Tools: Online platforms offer searchable Bibles, concordances, interlinear texts, and Greek and Hebrew lexicons, aiding in-depth study and exegesis.

Historical and Archaeological Topics: Access information about archaeological findings, historical archives, and primary sources that offer insights into the Bible's historical and cultural context. 

Current Theological and Ecclesiastical Issues: News websites, blogs, and forums offer commentary on contemporary issues, aiding in the understanding of current theological debates.

Ethical and Cultural Analysis: Websites focusing on ethics and cultural studies explore how biblical teachings intersect with contemporary issues, vital for applied theology research. 

Sermon and Ministry Resources: Sermon archives and ministry training resources support homiletical study and leadership development.

Networking and Collaboration:  Academic networks and platforms like Academia.edu foster research collaboration and scholarly community engagement.

Help with Determining a Website’s Point of View (POV)

Examine the author's background: Check the author’s qualifications, academic background, and affiliations, consider the organization or institution hosting the website, which may reflect a specific doctrinal stance.

Check for Bias or Assumptions: Evaluate how information is presented, determine if the website acknowledges alternative viewpoints or presents a one-sided perspective, analyze the diversity of sources used, reliance on like-minded sources can indicate inclination. 

Evaluate the Purpose and Intended Audience: Consider whether the website's purpose is to educate, advocate, promote a specific viewpoint, or convert, which can indicate the level of bias; identify the target audience, as a site aimed at a specific faith community may reflect that community’s beliefs, review the stated or implied mission statement or goals, which often reveal the website's overarching viewpoint.

Cross-Reference with Other Sources: Compare content with other websites to highlight differences and identify the site’s POV.

Look for Patterns in Content: Identify recurring themes or omissions, which can signal a consistent POV, examine visual and design elements, analyze imagery, design, ads, and affiliations, which can reflect the website's underlying perspective. 

Assess Handling of Controversial Topics: Observe how the website handles disagreement and criticism, which can reveal bias.

Be aware that websites like Got Questions are helpful for providing quick, accessible answers to common theological questions, making complex concepts easier to understand for a general audience. However, they are not considered scholarly resources for higher education due to:

1. No Peer Review: Scholarly sources undergo peer review by experts, ensuring credibility, which Got Questions lacks.

2. Limited Depth: The site simplifies topics and may not explore issues with the depth needed for academic research.

3. Citations: It often lacks citations from primary, peer-reviewed academic sources, reducing its scholarly reliability.

4. Theological Bias: It may reflect specific doctrinal biases, unlike scholarly works that aim for balanced perspectives.

While useful for quick reference, Got Questions doesn’t meet the standards for scholarly research.

We are here to help you find and use academic resources! Call (910) 323-5614 or email:

Librarian: Kellie Tomita, ktomita@ccbs.edu

Library Assistant: David Probus, dprobus@ccbs.edu