Step 1: Grasp the Text in Their Town
Grasp the Text in Their Town
 |
|
Date, Authorship, Recipients, and Purpose
For most of the questions of authorship and date, reading the introduction in most scholarly commentaries will suffice. However, for a quick overview we've listed a few resources below that will give this information, and more, as well. Look up the entires for the books of the Bible to see discussions of date, authorship, recipients, and purpose.
Note: Every dictionary on this page may be helpful for Date, Authorship, etc., outlining the book, or relating the text with the rest of scripture.
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Pentateuch by Call Number: Ref BS1225.52 .D53 2003
Dictionary of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref BS1205.55 .D53 2005
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Call Number: Ref BS1505.55 .D53 2012
Dictionary of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref BS1410 .D53 2008
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Call Number: Ref BS2555.52 .D53 2013
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Call Number: Ref BS2650.2 .D53 1993
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Call Number: Ref BS2625.5 .D53 1997
Outline the Entire Book
Good commentaries will have a general outline for the whole book contained in their introduction, or throughout the commentary. But, there are other resources that may also be helpful in this step. These resources will be helpful in giving an overview of a biblical book in a short article.
Note: Every dictionary on this page may be helpful for Date, Authorship, etc., outlining the book, or relating the text with the rest of scripture.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992 v. 1-6
Dictionary for Theological Interpreation of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .D495 2005
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by Call Number: Ref BS440 .N437 2000
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .O93 2011
Relating the Text with the Rest of Scripture
These resources, as well as some already mentioned, are good resources to help you connect the biblical book, or passage, with the theology in the rest of the Bible.
Note: Every dictionary on this page may be helpful for Date, Authorship, etc., outlining the book, or relating the text with the rest of scripture.
Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref BS511.3 .C653 2007
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by Call Number: Ref BS537 .D48 1998
Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Ref BS440 .H64 2003
New international Bible dictionary by Call Number: Ref BS440 .N4375 1987
