Step 2: Measuring the Width of the River to Cross
Measuring the Width of the River
 |
Ask: What are the differences between the biblical audience and us? Items to consider include:
​Remember, the width of the river varies. Sometimes it is extremely wide (such as during the days of the tabernacle, sacrificial system, etc.). Other times, the width is more narrow (such as during the days of the NT church era). |
Original Languages for English Speakers
The New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by
Strong's Concordance lists every occurance of a word in English alond with its scripture reference. One of Strong's most useful features is the numbers it assigns to every usage of an English word. These numbers reference either a Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek word. Some resources below place a Strong's number by each entry allowing the non-biblical language reader access to the same information as one who can read the languages.
Call Number: Ref BS425 .S8
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by
A Hebrew and Aramaic lexicon that makes use of Strong's Numbers
Call Number: Ref PJ4833 .G4 1996
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by
A Hebrew lexicon that gives a detailed description of theologically significant Hebrew words in the Old Testament. They are ordered by Strong's numbers and provide references to other dictionaries that will help the non-Hebrew trained student access these materials.
Call Number: Ref BS440 .T4813 1997 v. 1-3
Thayer's Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by
A Greek lexicon that makes use of Strong's numbers. Helpful for non-Greek language readers.
Call Number: Ref PA881 .G8
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology by
A theological dictionary that is organized by English words. It gives all the Greek words that the English entry is used to translate. It gives in-depth articles on words that are considered theologically significant.
Call Number: Ref BS2397 .N48 1986
Original Languages
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by
The standard in Hebrew lexicography, Brown-Driver-Briggs is a lexicon for every Hebrew word used in the TaNaK (Hebrew Old Testament) organized by roots. This lexicon also includes a biblical Aramaic lexicon separate from the Hebrew lexicon.
Call Number: PJ4833 .G4 1996
A Bilingual Dictionary of the Hebrew and Aramaic Old Testament by
A lexicon that offers a strictly alphabetical ordering of Hebrew words making it easier to use for beginning Hebrew students. It also includes an Aramaic lexicon ordered in the same way.
Call Number: PJ4833 .K62 1998
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by
A theological dictionary that provides detailed articles on the use of important Hebrew terms focusing on the use in the TaNaK, but also including useful information from the use of Hebrew words in Qumran, and their translation in the Septuagint.
Call Number: PJ4835.G3 B613 1974
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by
A specialized lexicon that attempts to present a supplement to the other Hebrew lexicons (BDB, HALOT) with particular attention to semantics and different methodology of words that are theologically relevant to Old Testament Theology.
Call Number: BS440 .T4813 1997
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by
The standard New Testament Greek Lexicon.
Call Number: Ref PA881 .B38 2000- Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by
A Greek-English Lexicon arranged by semantic domains. It organizes words based upon their meaning. Therefore, words that have similar meaning will be grouped together.
Call Number: Ref PA881 .G68 1989 v.1-2
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by
A theological dictionary that provides detailed articles on the use of important Greek terms used in the New Testament.
Call Number: Ref PA881 .K513 v. 1-10
Theological Lexion of the New Testament by
A theological dictionary that provides detailed articles on theologically significant Greek words found in the New Testament.
Call Number: Ref PA875 .S613 1994 v. 1-3
Compare Various Versions and Translations
- Bible GatewayA good resource for comparing every possible translation you can think of.
- Blue Letter BibleA good resource to compare Bible versions, but also to access helpful tools to analyze the text.
- LaparolaRead the Greek New Testament with the most important textual variants, and do word studies.
Identify the Genre or Literary Devices
Handbook for Biblical Interpretation by Call Number: Ref BS511.3 .T38
Interpreting the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .T38 2006
Find Journal Articles to Help Out
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Includes eBooks, Religion and Philosophy Collections, Atla with Atla Serials (American Theological Library), and Open Dissertations. Students will need the username and password found in Populi under Library Links, or have a personal user account.
Recommended Exegetical Commentary Series
- Best CommentariesNeed more help? Visit this website to help you find good commentaries on a particular book of the Bible.
Commentaries on Old and New Testament
Expositor's Bible Commentary (Revised)
International Critical Commentary
The New American Commentary
Word Biblical Commentary
Commentaries on the Old Testament
- New International Critical Commentary of the Old Testament
Commentaries on the New Testament
New International Commentary on the New Testament
Pillar New Testament Commentary
